The Object of My Desire

I had been mulling over getting a Laptop for myself over the past month or so and my choice was the selling-like-hot-cakes HP DV6500t which had all that I’d wanted. And moreover it was from HP – the same brand that my Desktop was (HP Vectra); the price was just right and so were the accessories and bundled goodies. But since the past few days, I have been leaning over towards the recently-launched Sony Vaio CR series. The lappy is a sleek-looking one and oozes style from every angle! And the blue color is just drop-dead-sexy!

Sony Vaio CR Blue

The downside though is that it retails for around 54K which is around 6k more than the HP model 😦 Guess style and substance don’t come cheap. Performance-wise I think the HP will be better equipped than the Vaio though I think a few reviews and head-to-head-comparison tests will ascertain who’s the true winner. Until I make a quick and informed decision, the Vaio will remain my object of desire………..

The HP too is a good-looker but not as suave and glimmery as the Vaio though…

 

HP DV6500t

Vaio CR

HP DV 6500t

Vaio CR Front

11 thoughts on “The Object of My Desire

  1. Dell Dell Dell Dell Dell!

  2. Duh! If you are looking at a suave and good looking lappy, what can beat an Apple? Except for the price that is.

  3. Dell?? Bah!

    Apple?? Duh!

  4. You really do lack taste ycee. 😛 lekin tere paise hai, jahaan hona wahan dal :p

  5. Pingback: The Next Step « Akhil Tandulwadikar’s Blog

  6. Whaddaya mean?? HP & Sony are bakwaas?? Apple is good but “duh” dabbu ledu And Dells are all cheapskates 👿

  7. I hav modified u’r HP dv6500t series & now its $1936.99

    Operating system Upgrade to Genuine Windows Vista Ultimate (64-bit)

    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo processor T7300 (2.00 GHz, 4 MB L2 Cache, 800MHz FSB)

    Display 15.4″ WXGA High-Definition HP BrightView Widescreen Display (1280 x 800)

    Memory 4GB DDR2 System Memory (2 Dimm)

    Graphics Card 383MB NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS

    Personalization HP Imprint (Radiance) + Fingerprint Reader + Webcam + Microphone

    Networking Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 4965AGN Network Connection and Bluetooth(TM)

    Hard Drive 120GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive

    Primary CD/DVD Drive SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-R/RW with Double Layer Support

    Primary Battery High Capacity 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery

  8. Dell are awesome for their prices! Well anyway, I’d agree they aren’t much in show off or multimedia factors, but considering VFM, they’re definitely the one I’d go for.

  9. @Maamu: Good Config that…get me one as a gift 😛

    @Harsh: I’m sure that as and when the Sriperambudur unit starts rolling off Laptops, the prices will come ven further down…and hence more VFM! But somehow I don’t feel Dells got the longevity and ease-of-use of say a HP or a Sony!

    I’ve had a HP PC for almost 8 years and its doing well even now…whilst my roomie’s 1-yr olf Dell is creaking and cranking already!

  10. Pingback: The ‘Object of Desire’ is Finally becoming a Reality! « My Wierd Wired World

  11. Pingback: Freedom at (Mid)Night « My Wierd Wired World

Leave a Reply

