Volkswagens in Hyderabad

Think Volkswagen and AP (Hyderabad) and the first thing that’ll come to one’s mind is the Vasisht Wahan scam! But despite the scandal, Hyderabadis favour the VW brand so dearly. Yesterday was like the Volkswagen viewing day for me. Within a span of less than 12 hours, I had the opportunity to see two Volkswagens in close quarters. The first one was a Volkswagen Phaeton which I spotted near my workplace as it vroomed by… inches from me. It was lustrous black in colour and the chrome-plated VW on the front-grille was shining in all its glory. And the guy in the passenger seat was RGV methinks đŸ˜®

The second sighting was in the evening and ’twas just two blocks away from my room! It was a Volkswagen Touareg – the SUV that looks waayy cooler than many other SUVs. And to think that I didn’t even know that there was a touareg in our colony! Incidentally, this one was black too. A li’l bit of digging led me to the news-piece that there are maybe one or two touaregs in Hyderabad and also that one of them is owned by a well-known politician of the city.I imagine it would cost a packet…and maybe some more. I just wish I had my camera with me! Well, if I’m wishing for anything, it ought to be them vehicles I should wish for :mrgreen: Stock pics after the jump…

Volkswagen Phaeton

Volkswagen Touareg

Images sourced from Volkswagen website

P.S: I also glimpsed a BMW X-5 earlier on the same day! Car-spotting day for me, it seems!

[EDIT: Chanced upon this YouTube vid of a Touareg careening along at 180 Kmph on the Hitech City – JNTU road]

2 thoughts on “Volkswagens in Hyderabad

  1. I agree with you on the Touareg … it’s much more appealing than the BMW X5 or the Audi Q7. I do like the Nissan Murano, but it’s not got enough “poke”!

  2. I am thinking about buying a used Volkswagon about a 90 to 95 ok now that everyone is laughing about the year I am looking for. I cant afford a new car but I am going to buy a good run around car. A sedan anyone have any suggestions?
    Contact Kels at ADDICTED2H2O@AOL.COM

    BIG THANK YOU

    d

Leave a Reply

