Sankranthi Rangolis

Sankranthi is synonymous with three things – Kites, Sweets and Rangoli!

Rangoli is one of the most popular art forms in India. It is a form of sandpainting decoration that uses finely ground white powder and colours, and is used commonly outside homes in India. Rangoli can be wall art as well as floor art. The term rangoli is derived from words rang (colour) and aavalli (‘coloured creepers’ or ‘row of colours’). [Wikipedia]

Though I couldn’t spot any kites in the skies over my neighbourhood, I did spot some colourful rangolis. Here are some of the nicer ones:

Peacock Rangoli
A Rangoli that’s in the design of a Peacock that I spotted in my neighbourhood. Ain’t it beautiful?

Sankranthi Rangoli
A bright and colourful Rangoli

Pentagon Rangoli
A Pentagon-shaped Rangoli

5 thoughts on “Sankranthi Rangolis

  1. the information should also be given in telugu….

  2. Err…but I don’t know how to type in Telugu! I’d be glad if someone can gimme the telugu text and I can gladly put it across.

  3. HI
    HAPPY WISHS FOR A PROSPEROUS AND DIVINE NEW YEAR ANDSANKRANTHI 2009 TO U AND YOURS ALL………….

  4. Hi
    I’ve came across one of the most Creative Sankranthi Rangoli. Wish You all a very Happy Sankranti

  5. Hi,

    These rangoli pictures are charming. I was wondering if I may have permission to use them in a childrens book. Based on the Creative Commons license, please let me know how you would like to receive credit. Please respond directly to my email. I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Leave a Reply

