Tamil Terima?

Am in Chennai for a Business visit and the first thing I get asked is this: Tamil terima? (do you know Tamil?), This form a guy manning the pre-paid taxi counter at the Chennai Airport. When I answered in the negative, he asked me in broken English as to where do I need to go to. I managed to convey the relevant information to him, albeit with some difficulty. But imagine my surprise when he talks with the next guy in the queue in Telugu!!! Guess he thought of me as a non-Telugu speaking guy!

I’d been to Chennai a few times over the past few years and it is this language barrier that I hate the most! People don’t speak to you in Hindi or English even if they know it👿 Especially the taxi/auto drivers. Maybe they derive some sort of sadistic pleasure out of it all….

[EDIT] I’d penned this entry on the 19th itself but connectivity gave up on me while I tried to post it!

4 thoughts on “Tamil Terima?

  1. When they ask “Tamil terima”? you should reply…

    “Telugu tera baap”. That will settle all disputes😉

  2. 😆

    I’d learnt the ‘No’ words – Mudiyaadu, Illai, Venda etc but this sounds way cooler…..

  3. Good suggestion Liju!

  4. ha haa … a good one Liju

Leave a Reply

