Checking out cite and abbr tags

A comment that I noticed at another blog whilst I was Blogrolling led me to think whether WP supported the cite and abbr tags? So here’s a post just to check those out😛

Julius Caesar once famously said Veni. Vidi. Vici., which meant “I Came. I Saw. I Conquered.”

Oh…so it works! To know more about this attribute, head over to this URI at the W3C.

Did you notice that I’ve also pitched in a acronym tag as well? No? Hover your mouse over the W3C in the line above. That’s the usage of the acronym tag whereas the URI in the same sentence is within the abbr tag. No marked difference there!

In case you’re curious, here’s the raw html I used:

<q cite="Julius Caesar">Veni. Vidi. Vici.</q>
<abbr  title="Uniform Resource Identifier">URI</abbr>
<acronym title="World Wide Web Consortium">W3C</acronym>

[EDIT] Curious! Firefox 3 does show the dotted-underlining for the URI and W3C words but Safari and IE7 do not! Something to do with compliance, maybe?

3 thoughts on “Checking out cite and abbr tags

  1. Nice…will use that feature now.🙂

  2. Tx. Tho I heard back from the WP people that the display of the dotted-underlines is theme-CSS-dependent.😐

Leave a Reply

