Now Listening: Slumdog Millionaire, Ghajini & Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi

Itz A.R.Rahman all the way! And a wee bit of Salim-Sulaiman. Thatz been the composition of my in-a-loop, listening-every-evening Winamp playlist. I’d love to carry them on my commute but alas, I don’t (yet) have any portable music player to accompany me on my jaunts. The albums in question are:

  • Slumdog Millionaire (Miscellaneous | Music: A.R.Rahman)

Slumdog Millionaire Poster

The only non-movie album of Rahman’s that I’ve listened to was Bombay Dreams which had a heady mix of Bollywood tracks as well but in Slumdog Millionaire, its Rahman in excellent non-filmi form. Out of 13 tracks, only one is a pure filmi number – Aaj ki Raat and that too is by Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy. The very-brit M.I.A has two tracks – Paper Planes and O Saya and though both good numbers, I prefer the instrumental-y songs that are awesome! Mausam & Escape, Liquid Dance, Riots and Lathika’s Theme are all heavy with music and sprinkled lightly with vocals and are an absolute treat to listen. Gangsta Blues is too rappy for my taste whereas Millionaire is too ‘electric’. Dreams on Fire reminds me very much of Celine Dion’s My Heart will go on from Titanic! Jai Ho and Ringa Ringa stick out like sore thumbs and are the least liked of the lot. Overall, a soundtrack that is pure Rahman and pure music. Take a bow, A.R.Rahman!

  • Ghajini (Hindi | Music: A.R.Rahman)

Ghajini PosterIf it wasn’t for it having released prior to Slumdog… and for the fact that I had been listening to it quite often, Ghajini soundtrack would have been er…um…shelved by now! The songs have steadily grown upon me but only two of them – Guzarish and Behka – both sung by relative newcomer/young singers – Javed Ali & Karthik respectively. I fast-forward through Aye Bachchu and listen to Lattoo only if I’m in a good mood. Kaise Mujhe mil  gayi is another good song and its instrumental compares quite well also. Only 5 tracks may seem too less compared to the deluge of 13 in SM but that is in hindsight! Given the choice, I’d pick three tracks from the Hindi version and three from the Tamil/Telugu version and make myself a Ghajini Mix:mrgreen:

  • Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi (Hindi | Music: Salim-Sulaiman)

Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi Poster This one is as filmy as it can get! What else can one expect from Yash Raj productions and Aditya Chopra especially. Though the choice of Salim-Sulaiman for the music is a little doubtful, the duo churn out some good numbers. I find myself humming Hum hain rahi pyaar ke, phir milenge chalte chalte all the time and no, I’m not randomly clubbing three movie names but that actually is one of the track from this movie. Call it a medley or a mix or what-have-you, its lyrics comprise of old and new movie names and also other popular songs and one-liners and music bits. Sonu Nigaam absolutely rocks this one and it shows….absolute fun track. The second favourite is the Punjabi dance number Dance pe chance maar le, a vivacious and groovy track sung even more vivaciously by Labh Jajhua and Sunidhi Chauhan. Tujh mein rab dikhta hai is slow…too slow for my liking. Haule Haule is another feel-good track that I initially disliked but after repeated listens now I kinda like it. Sukhwinder Singh maybe a misfit for Shah Rukh Khan but no one complained for Chaiyya Chiayya no? So why bother here! Overall, a peppy album with no blockbuster songs (which one expects in a Yash Raj movie) but three good numbers.

4 thoughts on “Now Listening: Slumdog Millionaire, Ghajini & Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi

  1. Ghajini’s soundtrack bursts with energy! I’m totally addicted to it. RNBDJ has some good songs too.

  2. actually Lattoo is a good song and i’ve started to like it. I like the energy of the singer (dunno who she is).

    Rab ne…. is a pathetic album. Sukhwinder is lucky mascot for SRK. Hence he keeps singing for him.

    Havent heard Slumdog yet. Sorry Bhai soundtrack is just ok. Though i loved the movie.

  3. any idea when Slumdog is releasing?
    and yeah cannot comment on the music, as I have not listened to any of the tracks of the 3 movies🙂

  4. @Bhargav: Agreed. Latoo and Behka are truly energetic and peppy. Can’t say the same for the other tracks though!

    @Liju: Latoo is sung by Shreya Ghoshal. The “yaar aaya” part sounds similar to “pyaar aaya” from (Sanjay Dutt, Priyanka Chopra starrer) Plan.

    @Kunal: I presume it’ll hit the theatres sometime in Jan 09. Not sure though. Fox website has the details but its blocked here👿

Leave a Reply

