Each Chrome extension has its own process?

After an initial dislike, I started using Google Chrome again on my notebook, but to my chagrin found that it was an even bigger memory hog than the trusty ol’ Firefox! Whilst with 3 of my oft-used sites open in Firefox it was at 96k of memory, Chrome with just the one tab open had 8 different chrome.exe processes in the task manager, with a combined memory footprint of 118k👿

Now I know Chrome creates a separate process for each tab but with only 1 tab, why 8 processes? I started killing the processes, starting with the least memory usage first and look what I noticed:

Chrome Processes

Each Chrome Extension creates its own process! And each Chrome Plugin creates its own process! What the…

I don’t know if the multi-process architecture is the inherent “good stuff” about Chrome but yes, that does help in keeping the browser running even though a related extension or plugin or tab has crashed. But that comes at what price? What if it were an older PC with just the 512 MB of RAM and a not-so-fast processor? Chrome would just C(h)rawl!

[Update]

Found this page at Chromium.org that says:

Chromium extensions will follow a multi-process architecture to share the same kind of stability and security that regular web pages have in Chromium.  All of an extension’s code runs in a single process, separate from the browser

Good idea but dunno how useful it’ll be with older and slower pc’s.

7 thoughts on “Each Chrome extension has its own process?

  1. i too stopped using Chrome and went back to Firefox. Not always does Chrome restore all the tabs if it the browser crashes. Also it stores a lot of tracking cookies much to my dismay.

    Every scan by Spybot for any antispyware shows a lot of traking cookies of Chrome in the system. Whereas Firefox does a clean wipe everytime the browser closes.

    Am back at Firefox and happy.

    • The Google folder in the Local folder went up to a whopping 700+ MB when I used the first version of Chrome. Had sworn it off since then but again resumed using it recently. Looks like I’ll use it only for Gmail and such stuff or ditch it altogether…like I did Maxthon and Opera😛

  2. Crawl better than crash & burn. Plus, its common of all latest updates of browsers today to use well above 100 MB of RAM today.

    If you’d like to go light, use light (and perhaps a bit old)!

    • Crawl? Will remind me of those dialup days when u open yahoomail, go brew a nice cuppa coffee and then come back to see the login page🙄

      I’d prefer a fast and nippy browser anyday…even if it crashes the odd once or twice!

  3. So once Chrome has extensions it is worse then FF? Why am I not surprised?

    The major reason I am sticking to FF is its “Awesome Bar”. It truly is awesome! If I remember just 1-2 words of the title, I can get the page I had opened maybe a month back…

    And this find of yours explains why anytime some youtube page hangs and I have to kill it, all flash components from all other tabs also die😦

  4. I prefer a faster browser for day2day use.
    As long as i have enough memory available in my lappy i am list bothered how much browser is occupying.

  5. Correction: 96M and 118M memory used for Firefox and Chrome respectively. If it really was 96k, I’d scream with joy

Leave a Reply

