Posted in Awareness, Info

World Aids Day

World Aids DayDecember 1 and it is World Aids Day. I know that I had advocated last year about how Aids awareness should not be confined to only a single day. I also know that there are several NGO’s and Organizations which are involved in spreading awareness and working relentlessly to combat this malady all the year round. I don’t know how many people have selflessly dedicated themselves to such efforts and I doff my hat to all of them. To be frank, I have done nothing to help these organizations or people who have been affected but i shall strive to do so for sure. As a small gesture, I shall be carrying the Awareness logo on my blog.

World AIDS Day is a day when people from around the world come together within a single effort. The global theme for the World AIDS Day 2006 is accountability – and the slogan is “Stop AIDS. Keep the Promise.”

The theme of accountability was developed by the World AIDS Campaign support team based on their ongoing work around World AIDS Day, and based on the outcomes of the London HIV and AIDS Campaigning and Advocacy meeting in February 2005. A number of lessons have been learnt from previous work on World AIDS Day, and far more energy is being invested early in the year to make World AIDS Day 2006 a success. The most significant aspect of this World AIDS Day is the degree to which it has been based around the inputs of a wide range of civil society partners

Must-Visit: WorldAidsCampaign | Avert | UN | WikiPedia | Aids in India

Author:

Hi There!! I'm Chittaranjan a.k.a "C" ...a happy-go-lucky-guy who is fond of the internet and food!! Am a QA Manager by day (and sometimes into the evening & night as well) and roam the corridors of the interwebs at other times. I follow Ferrari & Manchester United, so Red is obviously a favourite color. The love of blogging has been on the wane for a while though I'm still trying to rekindle that spark.....never say never, eh!

One thought on “World Aids Day

  1. Coming to think of it, I think its a good idea to dedicate one day to this cause. This way it attracts more attention.

    And no, the same doesn’t apply to Valentine’s/Father’s/Mother’s/Friendship Day. 😐

Leave a comment