Posted in Awareness, Happenings, Info, Tech, Web Travails, Windows, Wordpress

Windows Live Writer woes with Windows 2003 Server!

A casual trip to the Spaces blog made me notice that Windows Live Writer’s (WLW) Beta 3 was available for download. Having been a regular user of WLW, I thought of upgrading it and hence downloaded the installer. Woe befell me when I noticed this message when I attempted to ran the installer:

WLW_Server 2003

My OS is Windows Server 2003 and my immediate thoughts were ‘Dang! MS People have made it Vista-only!!!’ Luckily, I hadn’t un-installed the existing WLW from my system. So I have to wait till the official release is made available (what if that too ain’t compatible with Windows 2003 server 😐 )

P.S: Too many W’s in the title, weren’t they? :mrgreen:

Author:

Hi There!! I'm Chittaranjan a.k.a "C" ...a happy-go-lucky-guy who is fond of the internet and food!! Am a QA Manager by day (and sometimes into the evening & night as well) and roam the corridors of the interwebs at other times. I follow Ferrari & Manchester United, so Red is obviously a favourite color. The love of blogging has been on the wane for a while though I'm still trying to rekindle that spark.....never say never, eh!

7 thoughts on “Windows Live Writer woes with Windows 2003 Server!

  1. @Joe: Yep! I did a quick search and did find out the work-around. It is not WLW’s problem as such but the Installer’s. I got hold of the MSI file and hopefully, am good to go.

  2. Had the same issue with the beta of WLW and the fix/patch worked. But is there also a fix/patch available for the Release?

Leave a comment