Posted in Happenings, Hyderabad, Moviez

Superman Returns – Movie Review

Superman Returns

I Get to see this movie exactly a fortnight after it releases and am relieved as well as disappointed! Relieved because I didn’t waste my birthday on this one…and disappointed because I feel that ~200 Bucks for this movie@IMAX was a total waste đŸ˜¦ . Everyone was raving about how this movie should be seen only at the IMAX for the ultimate experience it offered, but frankly, I felt it didn’t make any difference! In fact, it only compunded my angst against wasting money on this flick!

Superman Returns….after a five-year absence from Earth and finds that the world has moved on…I won’t waste your time telling you what the movie is all about. Let Michelle or Scott tell it. I’ll tell you why I didn’t like this one: Well, for starters, it seems lame that a Superhero movie should focus more on the ‘humane’ aspect rather than the ‘heroic’ aspect. Half of the time, Superman is brooding about the people he left, his liason with Lois Lane..et al. And worse, it doesn’t even get conveyed to the audience! Remember how Spiderman’s inner struggle were conveyed through monologues and inner-voices? Superman doesn’t use any of those and this reduces the man-of-steel into a ‘Thinker’ sorta caricature!

Continue reading “Superman Returns – Movie Review”